How To Deactivate Uber Driver Account?
Last Updated on January 21, 2017 by Rideshare Community Support
Unfortunately, deactivating your account cannot be done by logging into your dashboard and clicking some sort of deactivation or delete button. If you are sure you no longer want to drive for Uber, you would need to contact Uber directly and advise them of this.
Uber Still Has Your History
Just so you know even though Uber delete your account (just like any company), they still will have a record of your partnership with them. Therefore deleting your account will not vanish your history from out of their database.
So what exactly does this mean? This means that drivers that may try to create a new account that have been deactivated by Uber for quality or whatever or those who were initially denied – deleting their original account will not work.
Need To Take A Break
If you just need to get away from Uber for awhile then you do not need to delete your account. As long as you complete at least 1 trip per month your account will remain active.
If you think you are going to be gone for more than 30 days, then you should let them know so they can put your account on a temporary hold. This will avoid deactivation for inactivity because again, you suppose to take at least 1 trip every 30 days to remain active.
Renting A Phone
In addition, no matter if you are leaving Uber for good or just going on a break. If you are renting an Uber phone, you should return the phone if you know you will not be driving for a while. You will still be billed your weekly data fee no matter if you are working or not.
So to avoid owing a hefty amount when you return to driving (if you are coming back), you should return your iPhone. The good thing about this is that you will at least be getting back your deposit. If you are not coming back you are required to return your device and in return you will get back your deposit if the phone is returned in good condition.
If you wish to no longer partner with Uber, you must contact Uber and request deletion. Follow the steps below.
1. Log in to your account at help.uber.com and click ‘Sign in for help’.
2. Once you are logged in, you will be able to confirm the removal of your account.
3. Under ‘Delete my account permanently’ enter your full name.
4. Under ‘Share details’ is where you will request the deletion of your account.
5. Hit submit to send.
Change Partners Instead of Deactivation
If you are an Uber driver that currently drives under a partner you wish to no longer drive under, you can request for Uber to remove you from under that specific partner instead of requesting deletion of your account. Depending on your city you might not be able to get on the again until you assign yourself a new partner or become a partner yourself. You can request partner change here.
Returning Uber Device
If you need to return your Uber iPhone for any reason, then you can do so by returning it at your local Uber office or via mail by printing off a complimentary label here.
If you would like to permanently or temporary deactivate your account, please contact Uber at help.uber.com for assistance. The service agent will put your account in a cancel status, remove you from the platform so you will no longer be contacted by Uber or have access to the app.